Emerald Coast Chapter

We are the beach people. The surfers, paddle boarders, kayakers, fishermen, swimmers, beach runners, and walkers. We are activists who want to protect the ocean environment, and our access to it! The ocean and beaches are our playground! More Details
January 20, 2012


The CORE training for this weekend is CANCELLED due to the lack of RSVPs for the event. We will send another survey out at the end of the month to try to reschedule this for February instead. Hope more folks can attend next month.

January 7, 2012

Okaloosa County Action Alert!!!

On January 17th, Okaloosa County Commissioners will be voting on whether or not to move forward with a highly controversial beach project permit due to the concern that the proposed sand is not good beach quality. We are asking all Okaloosa County residents to please take a moment and call your County Commissioners let them know that you would like them to reject moving forward with the project. To learn about the recent legal case and what to say check out the Florida Surfrider Action Alert website for more info.

January 7, 2012

Emerald Coast Chapter Recognized with 2012 Wavemaker Award

Once a year we take a moment to recognize the people and partners that have contributed in extraordinary ways towards our mission of the protection and enjoyment of oceans, waves and beaches.

ALL of us at Surfrider Foundation offer a heartfelt thank you to everyone who engaged with our mission and made a difference in 2011, but the following people get an extra thanks.

We are especially pleased to announce that one of the recipients is from Florida!

Chapter Leadership Award
Mike Sturdivant – Emerald Coast Chapter
Awarded to an individual or group of individuals selected for service to a
chapter (US or International) that showed leadership and inspiration.

Coastal Impact Award
Peter Douglas

Surf Industry Partner Award
Malibu Surfing Association

Environmental Activism Award
Portland Bag Ban Crew
Chapter leaders:
Tara Gallagher
Staj Pace
Matt Spencer
Stiv Wilson
Mason Brock
Ryan Cruse
Lisa Lynch
Drew Kerr
Tristan Fields
Jocelyn Gary
Gregg Hayward
Jacque Rodriguez

Corporate Partner Award

Distinguished Service
Dr. Carl Berg – Kauai Chapter

Outstanding Contribution
Marisla Foundation

Development Award
Jeff Berg

The Wavemaker Awards will be held on Saturday, February 4th at Talega Golf Club in San Clemente, CA at 6:30pm.

Click here to see previous winners.